Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation
Main Navigation


Ajax Loading Image


Hall of Fame Inductees for Geary Invitational

Story image 1_0

Legendary wrestler John Smith and his high school coach and longtime wrestling official Tom Moore were among the four inductees into the Geary Invitational Tournament Hall of Fame.  Smith wrestled in the Geary Tournament as a student at Del City.  Following graduation, he went to Oklahoma State University where he was a two-time NCAA Division I national champion.  Smith won more world-level gold medals than any other American wrestler.  He was a six-time world champion, and won two Olympic gold medals.  Smith was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in 1997.  Tom Moore of Edmond has been an official at the Geary Tournament for many years.  Moore began his teaching and coaching career in 1966.  Later, he became head coach at Del City, and in the second season his team, which included John Smith, won State.  Moore has officiated at all levels, including high school, junior college, NAIA, NCAA Division I and II dual meets and tournaments. He was inducted into the Oklahoma chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2005, and was National Wrestling Official of the Year in 2006.  Two longtime Geary residents, who are deceased, were also inducted into the Geary invitational Hall of Fame.  Friends and family members accepted the statuettes in memory of Al Long, former Geary principal and coach, and Evelyn Boettger, a dedicated supporter of the Geary Tournament for many years.